Does texting harm our writing skills?

Did you know that there’s a dictionary for “Texting Slang”?

Texting Slang Dictionary
Texting Slang Dictionary

When I am writing emails and papers or anything other than a text I find myself automatically wanting to use “texting slang” in my writing. I think it is because my brain is now conditioned to use the slang instead due to the fact that I text more than I do any other type of writing. What is worse is I know I don’t texted nearly as much as my children do. Which would explain the article I read explains how the explosion of social media has changed the way we communicate and write. Here’s an excerpt from the article, “I think it makes sense for these social conversations to be lightweight or light-hearted in terms of the syntax,” said President of Dictionary.com Shravan Goli. “But ultimately, in the world of business and in the world they will live in, in terms of their jobs and professional lives, students will need good, solid reading and writing skills. I’m a little worried about where we are in America with literacy levels dropping. Are these [electronic devices] helping us, or making it worse? I think they may be going the other way and making it worse.” – See more at: Do Texting and “Cyber Slang” Harm Students’ Writing Skills?

So what are your thoughts on the subject of texting and is it effecting our writing skills?

-Melissa Miller

3 thoughts on “Does texting harm our writing skills?”

  1. I’m noticing that text speak is slowly coming to a halt with new technology such as auto-correct and emojis. Auto-correct allows people to type incorrectly and does the work for them. Also, why type “LOL” when you can just put in a laughing cat emoji? Also, think really hard to the last time you used “brb”.

    These new advancements haven’t really done much for writing skills, however. Autocorrect on mobile device won’t help writing skills and emojis aren’t used in formal documents (unfortunately).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a teacher that has graded great numbers of papers written by high school students over the past 15 years, I can say with certainty that “text” slang has affected writing. I am not sure that it has limited thinking and collaborative learning though. In fact, I think that constant textual communication has helped students develop thinking and articulation skills in some ways. At the same time, teachers must continue to press students to respect writing conventions. The biggest issues I see are the simple things like using proper capitalization. This was already happening with spell checking, before texting was around. However, the simple mistakes that one saw before are now more universal. It is an ongoing issue, but once again, younger students can share ideas on text chats much faster than I can. For example, since I think and write in full sentences, I almost never get thoughts out in the text chat during our Social Media class. By the time I get things written out, the conversation has moved on and I am left observing instead of interacting as much as other “text” style writers. There are pros and cons as there are with most issues.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I probably text more times a day than any other communication, well maybe I snapchat more. Years ago pre-smart phone times, I had a few different phones that had the T9 texting, which was a way of texting using the numeric keyboard and the phone would guess the best word. When I texted like that I used many abbreviations and text slang, that I would find myself wanting to write down other places. I got an iPhone in like 2009, it has a QWERTY keyboard, so I find I write out my words more than I use to and it does auto-correct which is helpful for the most part. I use more slang and abbreviations when I snapchat people, only because it has such a short character limit.

    Maybe a little off topic, but my bigger concern in that students are not learning cursive anymore in school. I teach at a school where most of my kids don’t know cursive. If we talk about it they start asking me to write cursive letters on the board, so they can see what it looks like. They cannot write full sentences in cursive, it’s a lost art! I would like to think when I have kids I’ll teach them cursive myself, but we all have big dreams of how we will raise our kids before we actually have any.

    Like

Leave a Reply

